During The Game Awards preshow Sumo Digital gave us a brief, yet enticing look at their new asymmetrical multiplayer game based on Tobe Hooper’s 1974 quintessential masterpiece: The Texas Chain Saw Massacre. There are no details at all to speak of, but the trailer, which you can watch below, seems to capture all the essence of the greatest horror movie to be put to celluloid.

The Texas Chain Saw Massacre was written by Tobe Hooper and Kim Henkel.

Leatherface, Start that Engine

I watched this spine-tingling trailer a couple of times and wow. As someone who idolizes this film, they have done a phenomenal job at all the details from the 1974 macabre classic. For example, that wasn’t just any guy hanging upside down with the blue shirt, if I know my Texas Chain Saw Massacre, and I like to think I do, that might be Kirk, one of the five teens traveling through Texas so that Franklin and Sally Hardesty can check on the gravestone of their grandfather after hearing of reports of grave robbing.

That along with the van zooming by in the first few seconds, the cold, yellow, blocky text, the radio voiceover, and especially that always terrifying noise that pierces your ear just right that’s supposed to be an old-fashioned camera lightbulb going off, but to me, that is the sound of pure, unmatched horror. They even used the same model house that still exists in Kingsland, Texas.

And if all that wasn’t enough, the team who put this together didn’t just give ol’ Bubba Sawyer (Leatherface) a standard chainsaw, oh no no no; they gave him his baby; the Poulan 306a model chainsaw, my heart fluttered when I saw it in the light. I don’t normally play games similar to Dead by Deadlight, but with the tender love and care that seems to be taken on this game, I will have to get my hands on it. I also see Drayton and Nubbins Sawyer, Leatherface’s older brothers, so you might be able to play as them, but come on, who would when you can be Leatherface.

Who else is pumped for The Texas Chain Saw Massacre multiplayer game!? Let us know down below. I call Leatherface!