Announced today at the Xbox Series X gameplay reveal event, The Ascent is an action-RPG releasing later this year. The game will be available on Xbox One, Xbox Series X, and PC through Steam. The Ascent joins a large lineup of titles coming to Xbox Series X at launch, optimized and enhanced thanks to the console. The game comes from publisher Curve Digital and new developer Neon Giant, with this being their debut into games. To go with the launch, the team provided a trailer that you can watch below.

The Ascent puts you in a dystopian cyberpunk metropolis. You’re a mere worker in the massive system that is The Ascent Group, until one day everything goes wrong. Following a series of unfortunate events, the city is in trouble and The Ascent Group has mysteriously shut down. All automated systems have become a mess, and other crime syndicates and corporate organizations are looking to capitalize on this mess. Without the group that controls your everyday life, will you survive? Make allies and slaughter enemies when The Ascent rises onto Xbox Series X, Xbox One, and PC later in 2020.

Overall, The Ascent looks to wow fans with its solid action-RPG gameplay and interesting world. The aesthetics are giving me Ruiner vibes, and given that I loved that game I think I’ll like this. I’m also a huge fan of the cyberpunk setting to begin with, so this knows how to tailor it to me. Action-RPGs might not be as big in my interests, but it’s a genre I enjoy playing regardless. This is one I’ll likely be hopping into with my friends, and I’m excited to see what we make of it.

Hopefully, you can grab a few friends and jump into The Ascent too. Especially with the Xbox Series X’s enhancements to boot. Do you think you’ll play The Ascent at release? What are some of your favorite cyberpunk experiences? Let us know what you think, and stay tuned here at The Nerd Stash for all your news, reviews, and more!