I have been following Tamarin all year. I mean, it’s a third-person 3D action-adventure game from some of the people behind Banjo Kazooie and Donkey Kong 64. How could it not catch my attention? I love Nintendo 64 era 3D platformers. And whenever I see a spiritual successor or modern homage of them, I always check it out. When I mention a modern take on these kinds of games, most people will think of the divisive Yooka–Laylee. Which I enjoyed and think is a perfectly fine game. You can fight me on it if you disagree.

Anyway, you can check out the Xbox One announcement trailer for Tamarin down below:

Tamarin looks to be going in a slightly different direction, however. Dropping the partner mechanics of something like Banjo Kazooie but adding third-person shooter gameplay. It really does remind me of certain parts of Donkey Kong 64. But with an adorable Tamarin as the main character, instead of the somewhat bizarre Kong family.

I am excited to explore the Nordic-inspired world of Tamarin as quickly as I can get a copy. Unfortunately, it was delayed until sometime in the 4th quarter of the year. So I am hoping to get my hands on it sometime soon. The big news today from developer Chameleon Games is that they are now developing the game for Xbox One, as shown in the trailer above. This is in addition to the originally planned PlayStation 4 and PC versions.

This Xbox One version won’t be released until sometime next year. Assuming it releases at the same price, it will be $29.99 for the regular version and $39.99 for a Deluxe Edition. This Deluxe Edition of Tamarin includes the soundtrack. The composer on this is non-other than the legendary David Wise. So that should be all the encouragement you need.

We will keep you updated on Tamarin, and if all goes well, get you a review of it when possible. Until then, you’ll have to be content staring at the beautiful trailer above.