I spend an inordinate amount of time on YouTube looking at all kinds of content, and it’s been like this for as long as I can remember, and I love it. Dipping into YouTube videos also helps me keep my mental health in check after say, a long and tiring day at work. It’s a great way to unwind and relax. But I am afraid, the creators I admire and follow every day can’t say the same for themselves.

What’s Happening, YouTube?

From Pewdiepie to Casey Neistat, everyone has taken a break from YouTube at one point in their career. Of course, not all the creators are going to turn on the camera to talk about their fear of an impending breakdown, but some do and it tells us how much work and effort goes into creating these these videos that often look effortless. The possibility of a burnout is real.

It is worth noting that there could be a lot of reasons behind the creators taking a break from YouTube. Personal reasons aside, a lot of these creators seem to be stepping away due to greater mental pressure. You can’t deny that your revenue from YouTube and your reputation on the platform is all about putting out content regularly, and being on top of the recall chain.

It’s hard to miss Lilly Singh when you are in India and on YouTube. She’s a veritable YouTube celeb. And in that last video, she does a great job of explaining why she decided to take a break from YouTube after posting videos for eight years straight. That is impressive to say the least, nut that doesn’t change the fact that it’s been exhausting.

I am not a YouTuber, so I am not in a position to detail the issues. But I highly suggest you watch some of the videos by Jesse, Elle Mills, who’ve done a great job of explaining their side of the story.

That being said, though, there’s no better place than YouTube for a creator. Yes, there are some caveats, but it has the potential to uplift budding creators by allowing them to do things they would never have the ability to do otherwise.